Cinemalaya-1THE Cinemalaya Foundation Inc. announces the Short Film Category finalists of the Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival 2018.

The 10 finalists are: Logro by Kani Villaflor; Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah by Xeph Suarez; Babylon by Keith Deligero; Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of the Month by Carlo Francisco Manatad; Sa Saíyang Islá (In His Island) by Christian Candelaria; You, Me and Mr. Wiggles by Jav Velasco; Nangungupahan by Glenn Barit; Kikoby Jojo Driz; Siyudad Sa Bulawan (City of Gold) by Jarell Serencio and Olivia Ranido; and Yakap by Mika Fabella.

The selection committee, composed of Teddy Co, Nick Deocampo, Joel Ruiz, Tara Illenberger and Eduardo Roy, Jr., confirmed the finalists after intense deliberation from more than hundred submitted entries.

The ten short feature film finalists will be screened during the 2018 Cinemalaya Festival, happening on August 3 to 12, 2018 at various CCP venues and select Ayala cinemas. The best short feature film will be awarded cash prize amounting to Php150,000 and a Balanghai trophy during the Cinemalaya Awards Night on August 12, 2018, at the CCP Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (CCP Main Theater).

On its 14th year, the Cinemalaya Film Festival is an all-digital film competition that aims to discover, encourage, and support the cinematic works of Filipino filmmakers that boldly articulate and freely interpret the Filipino experience with fresh insight and artistic integrity. It is a project of the Cinemalaya Foundation, Inc. in partnership with the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP).

For more information, please visit, and the CCP and Cinemalaya Facebook pages.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s